News & Views

SXSW Interactive Awards / Winners

by Contagious Team

Interactive winners impress the interactive community in Texas

Take this Lollipop, a campaign warning against the dangers of sharing your details online claimed Best in Show and the Experimental category at SXSW's interactive awards, highlighting the debate around privacy that had been taking place at the festival.

The piece was directed by Jason Zada at Tool of North America, Santa Monica. The production company also claimed the Motion Graphics award for singer Ellie Goulding's interactive music experience Lights

Brian Latt, Tool NA's managing director, told Contagious: 'I'm so grateful for the SXSW jurors recognition of some of our recent accomplishments. The awards validate our efforts to push the creative boundaries of interactive storytelling. Each project is a mini art piece that effectively connects the brand to the consumer.'  

'Each project was transformational, capturing a sizable global audience with almost entirely no paid media. Zada's "Take This Lollipop" was incredibly effective at this, having generated over ten million Facebook Likes in 30 days. It pushed beyond the boundaries of what we thought was possible.'

Dynamic presentation site Projeqt developed by TBWA was awarded top Educational Resource while digital content pioneers, Canada's National Film Board, claimed the Art prize for Bla Bla. The Social Media award went to Storify, a site to create social stories.  

Reflecting the political focus at the festival, with the US election distinctly on the horizon, Americans Elect was awarded the People's Choice Award. Image-sharing social network, Pintrest was named 'break out digital trend' and Tesco's now extremely familiar Homeplus campaign, via Cheil Worldwide / Seoul was awarded Digital Campaign of the Year. The fact, however, that it had already won Media Grand Prix at Cannes Lions in 2011 highlights some of the way that SXSW has to go before its interactive awards are regarded as highly as the rest of the festival.

See the full list of winners here